IRB state champions crowned in fast and furious weekend of racing

Life Saving Victoria (LSV) has crowned its 2022 inflatable rescue boat (IRB) state champions at the TRE Motorsport Victorian IRB Championships held at Lorne Surf Life Saving Club (SLSC) on 25-26 July.

The championships saw 16 clubs from Wye River in the west and Venus Bay in the east showcasing their rescue ready skills using the most popular piece of modern rescue equipment.

Barwon Heads 13th Beach SLSC were overall open champions with 68 points, followed by Elwood Life Saving Club (LSC) with 57 points and Ocean Grove SLSC with 39 points.

In the under 23 division, Elwood LSC were victorious with 55 points, just ahead of South Melbourne LSC with 53 points and Venus Bay SLSC on 47 points.

South Melbourne LSC were champions in the masters division, on 30 points, with Williamstown Swimming and Lifesaving Club (S&LC) coming in in second place on 16 points and Brighton LSC placing third with 13 points.

Following a successful season of continued strong results, the Seaford LSC women’s team were named the most improved team for the 2022 IRB racing season.

LSV board director aquatic sport Aaron Green said after a successful weekend at the final round of the 2022 TRE Motorsport IRB Premiership Season at Apollo Bay SLSC, it was great to continue the momentum into the tail end of the season.

“IRB racing is not only a thrilling spectator sport, particularly in the surf, but facing a range of conditions like those at Lorne is also great practice for our athletes, who are the same lifesavers you see on patrol across the state during the summer,” Mr Green said.

“The IRB is known as ‘the workhorse’ of lifesaving rescue equipment, used for rescue, retrieval and surveillance, and were used for 142 rescues during the 2021-22 Victorian patrol season.

“Congratulations to all competitors on an excellent two days of competition and an enormous thank you to our volunteers who officiated, judged and managed the event, as well as Lorne SLSC for being our host club.”

For all results from the TRE Motorsport 2022 Victorian IRB Championships, click here.

Based on these results and those throughout the season, the aquatic sport council selected the below athletes for the open Victorian IRB state team and under 23 Victorian IRB development team, who travelled to the 2022 Australian IRB Championships in Mollymook, New South Wales from 21-24 July. Our Victorian athletes returned with the bragging rights of being ranked second in Australia in the sport.

Victorian IRB state team 

Team manager: Rachael Rylance (Elwood LSC)
Head coach: James Terrance (Ocean Grove SLSC)
Assistant coach: Alex Walton (Williamstown S&LC)
Patient coordinator: Mark Pratt (Brighton LSC)

Christian Aquila, Williamstown S&LC
Emily Bambrook, Ocean Grove SLSC
Kristina Clappison, South Melbourne LSC
Mitchell Cole, Brighton LSC
Sophie Courtney, Portsea SLSC
Sam Davis, Elwood LSC
Orlagh Davison, Ocean Grove SLSC
Callum Dickson, Williamstown S&LC
Shaun Leith, Williamstown S&LC
Andrew May, Portsea SLSC
Tahli McNaughton, Elwood LSC
Finn Nicholas, Portsea SLSC
Keely Peatling, Ocean Grove SLSC
Jesse Tammesild, Brighton LSC
Alastair Thomas, Williamstown S&LC
Nicole Xuereb, South Melbourne LSC

Joel Hosken, Elwood LSC
Sas Macnamara, Portsea SLSC

Victorian IRB development team

Team manager: Ben Herdman (Elwood LSC)
David Rylance (Elwood LSC)
Assistant coach: Marty McCorriston (Venus Bay SLSC)
Patient coordinator: Joel Farrow (Williamstown S&LC)

Jasmine Happ, Williamstown S&LC
Lauren Harrop, Elwood LSC
Alec Hende, Elwood LSC
Mark Hende, Elwood LSC/Black Rock LSC
Lachlan Hickey, Venus Bay SLSC
Lachie Hirth, South Melbourne LSC
Mackenzie Hooper, Ocean Grove SLSC
Brydie Logan, Williamstown S&LC
Jasmine McJames-Court, Elwood LSC
Kiara McJames-Court, Elwood LSC
Jack Olivier, Elwood LSC
Georgie Park-Beard, Elwood LSC
Ava Robinson, South Melbourne LSC
Sarah Robinson, South Melbourne LSC
Nick Vouk, South Melbourne LSC
Declan Woolf, Venus Bay SLSC

Drew Honey, Ocean Grove SLSC
Oliver Sullivan, Ocean Grove SLSC

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.