Lifesaving’s Best Honoured at Awards of Excellence

Bonbeach LSC was the standout achiever at LSV’s 2017 Awards of Excellence, taking home three of the night’s top honours, and a total of four awards, including:

  • Lloyd Thomas – Microflite Lifesaver of the Year (John Wishart Memorial Medal)
  • Dawn Walterfang Volunteer of the Year (Graeme Long Memorial Medal)
  • Bonbeach LSC Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Surf Rescue Certificate Program –Outstanding Achievement of the Year
  • Stephanie Thomas Reindel – Volunteer Assessor of the Year

The 14th annual Awards of Excellence ceremony was held at the Pullman Hotel in Albert Park on 29 July, attracting over 280 guests, including Victorian lifesavers, aquatic industry members and dignitaries, to celebrate achievements across the breadth of the aquatic community.


The prestigious Beaurepaire Shield was awarded to the JLT Australia Victorian Club of the Year, Venus Bay SLSC, for its commitment to patrolling and dedication to continuous improvement.

President’s Certificates were awarded to Kieran Hanley from Rosebud & McCrae SLSC and Joshua Ritchie-Crichton from Gunnamatta SLSC, for saving the life of a man who collapsed from a heart attack at a local cricket match.

Point Leo SLSC’s Samantha Howe was named Athlete of the Year, following winning the Junior Female Athlete of the Year award in 2016, testament to her dedication as an athlete and consistently strong performances, particularly in pool lifesaving.

Three medals were presented by President of the International Life Saving Federation Graham Ford AM, in recognition of Service to International Lifesaving.

LSV Director Norman Farmer ESM and Principal Research Associate Dr Bernadette Matthews – along with Life Saving Victoria as an organisation – all received these prestigious medals, recognising their efforts internationally and in particular the progress made in drowning prevention in Sri Lanka.

LSV President Tom Mollenkopf paid tribute to all award nominees and winners for their ongoing commitment to the lifesaving movement.

“This special event recognises and celebrates the exceptional achievements our dedicated volunteers, staff, and members of the broader aquatic community make throughout the year,” he said.

“Everyone in the organisation takes great pride in the work they carry out, and this is a wonderful way to acknowledge those who go above and beyond to contribute to all aspects of lifesaving in Victoria.”

2017 Award Recipients:

JLT Australia Club of the Year – Venus Bay SLSC

Microflite Lifesaver of the Year – Lloyd Thomas, Bonbeach LSC

Volunteer of the Year – Dawn Walterfang, Bonbeach LSC

Outstanding Achievement of the Year – 2017 CALD Surf Rescue Certificate Program, Bonbeach LSC

President’s Certificate – Kieran Hanley, Rosebud and McCrae LSC; Joshua Ritchie-Crichton, Gunnamatta SLSC

Life Membership – Dr Natalie Hood, Portsea SLSC; Nancy Joseph, Fairhaven SLSC

Nipper Program Volunteer of the Year – Greg Schmidt, Mentone SLSC

Membership and Leadership Development Service Awards – Aaron Hunt, Altona LSC; Rebecca Gould, Portsea SLSC; Tarryn Thom, Inverloch SLSC.

Youth Athlete of the Year – Lucy Conquit, Ocean Grove SLSC

Athlete of the Year – Samantha Howe, Point Leo SLSC

Team of the Year – Torquay Pirates Boat Crew

Coach of the Year – Geoff Waters, Anglesea SLSC

2017 Victorian Championship Point Score Winner – Ocean Grove SLSC

Competition Official of the Year – Tamara Brawn, Point Leo SLSC

Volunteer Training Officer of the Year – James Green, Port Campbell SLSC

Volunteer Assessor of the Year – Stephanie Thomas-Reindel, Bonbeach LSC

LSV Public Training and Pool Safety Licensee of the Year – Maranter Training Services

LSV Public Training and Pool Safety Trainer of the Year – Aaron Moore

LSV Public Training and Pool Safety Service Member of the Year – Pamela Ashley

LCV Professional Pool Lifeguard Challenge Champions – Waves Leisure Centre

LSV Pool Lifeguard of the Year – Tanner Redden, Leisurelink Geelong

Watch Around Water – Facility of the Year – Aquapulse, Western Leisure Services

LSV Education Instructor of the Year – Leonie Mawkes

LSV Swim and Survive Licensee of the Year – Melton Swim School

Media Services to Lifesaving – Gareth Boreham, SBS World News

Beach Lifeguard of the Year – Cassandra Moss

Administration Club of the Year – Altona SLSC

Patrol Efficiency Club of the Year – Mount Martha LSC

International Lifesaving Federation Award – Life Saving Victoria; Dr Bernadette Matthews; Norman Farmer ESM.

Photos from the night are available to view and download from the LSV Facebook page

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.