Lifesaving Winners at Victorian Sport Awards

The Mount Martha Life Saving Club Under 15 R&R team has been named the 2016 Victorian Young Team of the Year, as part of the Victorian Sport Awards, held at the Melbourne Convention Centre on 30 March 2017.

The team, led by coach Geoff Waters, won gold at every Victorian competition they attended and capped off their season with gold at the Australian Surf Life Saving Championships on the Gold Coast.

Chloe Mcgill, Abby Galvin, Hannah Malone, Lucy Mowat and Madelyne Beach were awarded the prestigious honour at the recent Victorian Sport Awards.

Lorne Surf Life Saving Club also won the 2016 Victorian Community Sporting Event of the Year Award for its successful Lorne Pier to Pub event, the largest open water swim event in the world.

In its 37th year, the annual event is run entirely by volunteers and attracts up to 5,000 swimmers from all ages and skill levels.

More than 500 people including world champions, Olympians and AFL legends attended the awards evening, which for the first time this year included community sport and active recreation categories, enabling the full spectrum of Victorian sport to be represented and recognised, from grassroots through to elite level.

Minister for Sport John Eren congratulated the winners and acknowledged the efforts from those who organise the competitions.

“A big thanks to all our grassroots clubs, associations and volunteers who work tirelessly behind the scenes,’’ Mr Eren said.

“You’re what makes community sport so great.’’

Other lifesaving finalists included Point Leo Surf Life Saving Club’s Samantha Howe in the Victorian Young Athlete of the Year category and beach sprinter Sally Cumming in the Victorian Masters Sport Award.

LSV congratulates all winners and finalists.


Image credit: VicSport

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.